CFL silverware season springs few surprises

CFL silverware season springs few surprises

Extinction is the rule. Survival the exception. Or at least so Carl Sagan believed. The CFL can almost be seen as a microcosm of this theory. The season gradually thins down the competitors until one is left alone to lift the Grey Cup.

Before the survival of the fittest team to lift the trophy comes and we can see the crowning of a champion comes the recognition of the leaders in their fields. We get to celebrate the players and coaches etc. who have stood out and made a difference over the season.

The winners of the CFL Awards are selected by a panel of voters including representatives from the Football Reporters of Canada from all nine CFL franchises, the national chapter of FRC voters and the head coaches of the CFL.

We at NFLGirlUK  ( have been following the MOP race for a while and you can see some of those same names again in the end of season awards. When it got down to the last two ( ) we had an opinion too and we certainly wouldn’t argue with the choice of Mike Reilly as winner.

The Esks QB finished the CFL season having played in all 18 games and completed 447 of 654 passes (68.3 %) for 5830 yards and 30 touchdowns. Meaning he was first in the league for yards passing, tied for 1st with Trevor Harris with 30 touchdowns thrown, 1st in the league for most rushing touchdowns at 12 and has the highest QUAR (the CFL’s new rating system for quarterbacks) of any QB in the league at 87.1.

Perhaps we should not be surprised that some of the Most Outstanding playing and coaching talent from the 2017 CFL season will be on display in The Grey Cup final on Sunday.

The Toronto Argonauts will be supplying the coach and rookie of the year in Marc Trestman and James Wilder Jr respectively, whilst the Calgary Stampeders will be adding the defensive and special teams players of the year in Alex Singleton and Roy Finch.

As if there wasn’t enough reason to get excited by the big game already we now know we will be watching some of the (officially) best at their positions go about their business. The CFL has used the hashtag ‘Bringitin’ on social media – well for this one it feels like we should all be saying Bring it on!


The full list of current player awards is as follows:

Most Outstanding Player  Mike Reilly
Coach of the Year  Marc Trestman
Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman  Stanley Bryant
Most Outstanding Defensive Player Alex Singleton
Most Outstanding Special Teams Player Roy Finch
Most Outstanding Rookie James Wilder Jr.
Most Outstanding Canadian  Andrew Harris




Picture from

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top