San Francisco 49ers

San Francisco 49ers

Team information

  • Head Coach: Kyle Shanahan.
  • Stadium: Levi’s Stadium.
  • Location: Santa Clara, California.
  • Owners: Denise DeBartolo York.
  • Established: 1946.

Team History

The San Francisco 49ers were charter members of the All-America Football Conference, which began play in 1946. Had it not been for the Browns, who won four championships and lost only four games in the league’s four years of operation, the 49ers would have been the AAFC’s dominant team. Their cumulative record was an excellent 39-15-2. They handed the Browns two of their four defeats but finished second each year. Even in attendance, the 49ers were second best in the AAFC next to Cleveland.

When the 49ers moved to the NFL in 1950 following the collapse of the AAFC, their original management team — co-owners Anthony J. Morabito and Victor P. Morabito and general manager Louis Spadia — remained intact. The 49ers in the 1950s boasted of some of the game’s great individual stars: quarterbacks Frankie Albert and Y. A. Tittle, running backs Hugh McElhenny, Joe Perry and John Henry Johnson, tackle Bob St. Clair and defensive tackle Leo Nomellini. But the closest they came to a championship in their first two decades of NFL play was in 1957, when they tied Detroit for the NFL Western division crown but lost in a playoff.

San Francisco flirted with success in 1970, 1971 and 1972, when the 49ers won three straight NFC Western division titles. Every year, they were eliminated by the Dallas Cowboys, in the NFC championship games 1970 and 1971 and in the first playoff round in 1972. In 1971, the 49ers moved their home games from antiquated Kezar Stadium to 68,491-seat Candlestick Park.

A bright new era dawned for the 49ers on March 31, 1977, when Edward J. DeBartolo Jr. became the new team owner. He dedicated himself to transforming a team that never won a league championship into a pro football power. In 1979, DeBartolo selected Bill Walsh, renowned as an offensive specialist, as the 49ers head coach. It took Walsh just three seasons to bring San Francisco its first-ever league championship with a 26-21 win over Cincinnati in Super Bowl XVI.

San Francisco also won the NFC West in 1983 and did even better in 1984 with 18 wins in 19 games and a 38-16 Super Bowl XIX victory over the Miami Dolphins. Walsh concluded his pro coaching career after a last-second 20-16 victory over Cincinnati in Super Bowl XXIII. In 10 years, Walsh compiled a 102-62-1 record and won six NFC West titles and three Super Bowls.

The 49ers of the 1980s were loaded with a group of young superstars including quarterback Joe Montana, receivers Dwight Clark and Jerry Rice, running back Roger Craig and defensive back Ronnie Lott. George Seifert, who replaced Walsh, continued to take full advantage of the existing talent. Careful personnel planning paid off as capable new players were on hand when veteran stars retired. A perfect example is the quarterback position where Steve Young was on hand to replace Montana, who battled a series of injuries before leaving the 49ers.

Seifert’s record as the 49ers head man was awesome, with two Super Bowl wins — a 55-10 win over the Denver Broncos in Super Bowl XXIV and a 49-26 victory over the San Diego Chargers in Super Bowl XXIX.

Team roster


3C.J. BeathardQB11/16/1993 (26)Iowa
10Jimmy Garoppolo  QB11/2/1991 (28)Eastern Illinois
4Nick MullensQB3/21/1995 (25)Southern Miss
26Tevin Coleman  RB4/16/1993 (27)Indiana
28Jerick McKinnon  RB5/3/1992 (28)Georgia Southern
31Raheem Mostert  RB4/9/1992 (28)Purdue
30Jeff WilsonRB11/16/1995 (24)North Texas
44Kyle JuszczykFB4/23/1991 (29)Harvard
11Brandon AiyukWR3/17/1998 (22)Arizona State
84Kendrick BourneWR8/4/1995 (25)Eastern Washington
18Dante PettisWR10/23/1995 (24)Washington
14Mohamed SanuWR8/22/1989 (31)Rutgers
15Trent TaylorWR4/30/1994 (26)Louisiana Tech
82Ross DwelleyTE1/26/1995 (25)San Diego
85George Kittle  TE10/9/1993 (26)Iowa
86Jordan Reed  TE7/3/1990 (30)Florida
89Charlie WoernerTE10/16/1997 (22)Georgia
66Tom ComptonG5/10/1989 (31)South Dakota
63Ben GarlandG4/6/1988 (32)Air Force
75Laken TomlinsonG2/9/1992 (28)Duke
60Daniel BrunskillT1/27/1994 (26)San Diego State
78Shon Coleman  T11/25/1991 (28)Auburn
69Mike McGlincheyT1/12/1995 (25)Notre Dame
68Colton McKivitzT8/9/1996 (24)West Virginia
67Justin SkuleT11/23/1996 (23)Vanderbilt
71Trent WilliamsT7/19/1988 (32)Oklahoma


91Arik ArmsteadDE11/15/1993 (26)Oregon
97Nick Bosa  DE10/23/1997 (22)Ohio State
55Dee Ford  DE3/19/1991 (29)Auburn
92Kerry HyderDE5/2/1991 (29)Texas Tech
95Kentavius StreetDE5/8/1996 (24)NC State
94Solomon Thomas  DE8/26/1995 (25)Stanford
90Kevin GivensDT3/1/1997 (23)Penn State
93D.J. JonesDT1/19/1995 (25)Ole Miss
99Javon KinlawDT10/3/1997 (22)South Carolina
53Mark NzeochaOLB1/19/1990 (30)Wyoming
56Kwon AlexanderMLB8/3/1994 (26)LSU
54Fred WarnerMLB11/19/1996 (23)BYU
51Azeez Al-ShaairLB8/4/1997 (23)Florida Atlantic
57Dre GreenlawLB5/25/1997 (23)Arkansas
Dontae JohnsonCB12/1/1991 (28)NC State
41Emmanuel MoseleyCB3/25/1996 (24)Tennessee
22Jason Verrett  CB6/18/1991 (29)TCU
Ken WebsterCB6/19/1996 (24)Ole Miss
24K’Waun WilliamsCB7/12/1991 (29)Pittsburgh
23Ahkello WitherspoonCB3/21/1995 (25)Colorado
45Demetrius Flannigan-FowlesDB9/4/1996 (24)Arizona
33Tarvarius MooreDB8/16/1996 (24)Southern Miss
36Marcell HarrisSAF6/9/1994 (26)Florida
20Jimmie WardFS7/18/1991 (29)Northern Illinois
29Jaquiski TarttSS2/12/1992 (28)Samford

Special teams

9Robbie GouldK12/6/1982 (37)Penn State
6Mitch WishnowskyP3/2/1992 (28)Utah
86Kyle NelsonLS10/3/1986 (33)New Mexico State

Team schedule (2020-2021)

1Sep 13, 2020Arizona
2Sep 20, 2020N.Y. Jets
3Sep 27, 2020N.Y. Giants
4Oct 4, 2020Philadelphia
5Oct 11, 2020Miami
6Oct 18, 2020L.A. Rams
7Oct 25, 2020New England
8Nov 1, 2020Seattle
9Nov 5, 2020Green Bay
10Nov 15, 2020New Orleans
12Nov 29, 2020L.A. Rams
13Dec 7, 2020Buffalo
14Dec 13, 2020Washington
15Dec 20, 2020Dallas
16Dec 27, 2020Arizona
17Jan 3, 2021Seattle

Source(s):,, CBS
Photo copyright: San Francisco 49ers

Back to top