Seattle Seahawks

Seattle Seahawks

Team information

  • Head Coach: Peter Carroll.
  • Stadium: CenturyLink Field.
  • Location: Seattle, Washington.
  • Owners: Jody Allen.
  • Established: 1976.

Team history

When the Seattle Seahawks took the field for the first time in the 1976 season, it marked the culmination of a quest for a National Football League franchise that had its roots in the Pacific Northwest metropolis as early as 1957. That is when discussion first began about the possibilities of constructing a domed stadium that would assure a major league sports franchise for the city. On June 4, 1974, the NFL awarded its 28th franchise to Seattle to play in the 64,984-seat Kingdome.

A civic suggestion campaign netted 20,365 entries and 1,741 different names, but “Seahawks” was selected and announced on June 17, 1975. Just a little more than two months later, after a 27-day sale, the season ticket campaign was shut off with 59,000 tickets sold.

On January 3, 1976, Jack Patera, who had been a Minnesota assistant coach, was named the team’s first head coach. The Seahawks finished 2-12 in 1976, when they played in the NFC, and 5-9 in 1977, when they moved into the AFC. The Seahawks had winning 9-7 records in both 1978 and 1979 and Patera was named NFL Coach of the Year the second year.

The strike-shortened 1982 season proved to be a transitional year for all of pro football, but no club fit the transitional description better than the Seahawks. Patera was removed after six-plus years as head coach. Mike McCormack finished the season as interim head coach and then was replaced in 1983 by Chuck Knox, who guided the Seahawks to an 83-67-0 record in nine seasons up through the 1991 campaign.

Knox led the Seahawks to the AFC championship game his first season. Seattle won an AFC West wild-card berth for the first time in its eight-year history and then knocked off Denver and Miami before losing to the Los Angeles Raiders 30-14 in the title game.

Once again in 1984, Knox guided the Seahawks to the playoffs with a 12-4 season. Seattle’s success came without ace running back Curt Warner, who led the AFC in rushing as a rookie in 1983 with 1,449 yards. Warner was injured in the first game and missed the rest of the season. Knox led Seattle back to the playoffs in 1987 and to the team’s only AFC Western division championship in 1988. That year, they lost to the eventual AFC champion, the Cincinnati Bengals, in the first playoff round.

The greatest individual star in Seahawks history, wide receiver Steve Largent, retired after the 1989 season as the NFL’s all-time leading receiver. At the time of his retirement, Largent held six all-time NFL receiving records. In 1995 he became the first Seahawk to be elected to the Hall of Fame.

During the 1988 season, Ken Behring purchased the majority ownership of the club from the Nordstrom family. On February 11, 1989, he named former Los Angeles Raiders head coach Tom Flores as the team’s new president and general manager. Three years later in January 1992, Flores was named the Seahawks new head coach. In nine seasons as the Raiders’ head man, Flores compiled a 91-56-0 record with victories in Super Bowls XV and XVIII. In 1995 Flores was replaced by Dennis Erickson, the highly-successful University of Miami coach.

The future of the Seahawks in the Pacific Northwest was secured after Paul Allen purchased the team in 1997 and two years later hired Mike Holmgren as their head coach. In 2005, the Seahawks won the NFC West with a 13-3 record and claimed the NFC championship to earn their first-ever Super Bowl berth. Success continued when Pete Carroll led the Seahawks to their first-ever Super Bowl victory in Super Bowl XLVIII.

Team roster


Geno Smith7QB
Russell Wilson3QB
Chris Carson32RB
DeeJay Dallas31RB
Travis Homer25RB
Carlos Hyde30RB
Nick Bellore44FB
Phillip Dorsett  11WR
Penny HartWR
Tyler Lockett16WR
DK Metcalf14WR
David Moore83WR
Freddie Swain18WR
Will Dissly89TE
Jacob Hollister86TE
Greg Olsen88TE
Luke Willson82TE
B.J. Finney67C
Ethan Pocic77C
Mike Iupati70G
Damien Lewis68G
Jordan Simmons66G
Duane Brown76T
Jamarco Jones 73 T
Cedric Ogbuehi  74T
Brandon Shell72T


L.J. Collier91DE
Rasheem Green  94DE
Benson Mayowa95DE
Damontre Moore99DE
Alton Robinson98DE
Poona Ford97DT
Bryan Mone92DT
Jarran Reed90DT
Anthony Rush63DT
D’Andre WalkerOLB
K.J. Wright50OLB
Bobby Wagner54MLB
Cody Barton57LB
Jordyn Brooks56LB
Ben Burr-Kirven55LB
Bruce Irvin51LB
Quinton Dunbar22CB
Tre Flowers21CB
Shaquill Griffin26CB
Neiko Thorpe23DB
Ugo Amadi28SAF
Marquise Blair27SAF
Lano Hill42SAF
Jamal Adams33SS
Quandre Diggs37SS

Special teams

Jason Myers5K
Michael Dickson4P
Tyler Ott69LS

Season schedule (2020-2021)

1Sep 13, 2020Atlanta  Mercedes-Benz Stadium
2Sep 20, 2020New EnglandCenturyLink Field
3Sep 27, 2020DallasCenturyLink Field
4Oct 4, 2020MiamiHard Rock Stadium
5Oct 11, 2020MinnesotaCenturyLink Field
7Oct 25, 2020ArizonaState Farm Stadium
8Nov 1, 2020San FranciscoCenturyLink Field
9Nov 8, 2020BuffaloBills Stadium
10Nov 15, 2020L.A. RamsSoFi Stadium
11Nov 19, 2020ArizonaCenturyLink Field
12Nov 30, 2020PhiladelphiaLincoln Financial Field
13Dec 6, 2020N.Y. GiantsCenturyLink Field
14Dec 13, 2020N.Y. JetsCenturyLink Field
15Dec 20, 2020WashingtonFedEx Field
16Dec 27, 2020L.A. RamsCenturyLink Field
17Jan 3, 2021San FranciscoLevi’s Stadium

Photo copyright: Seattle Seahawks

Back to top