AFC South

The AFC South is one of the four divisions of the American Football Conference (AFC) in the National Football League (NFL). It was created before the 2002 season when the league realigned divisions after expanding to 32 teams. Since its creation, the division has had the same four members: Houston TexansIndianapolis ColtsJacksonville Jaguars, and the Tennessee Titans.

Before the 2002 season, the Texans did not exist, the Colts belonged to the AFC East, and the Titans and Jaguars were members of the AFC Central. The AFC South is often regarded as the NFL’s “newest” division since at the time of its establishment none of the new division’s members had played more than eighteen seasons in their current cities. The Colts had played in Baltimore until the end of the 1983 season, the Jaguars commenced play in 1995 and the Titans had been based in Houston (where they were known as the Oilers) until 1996. However, Indianapolis, Tennessee and Jacksonville had all won multiple division titles and wild card berths in their prior respective divisions.

Entering 2016, the Colts hold a 494–433–7 record and a 22–23 playoff record with two NFL league crowns, four Super Bowl appearances and two wins. The Titans hold a record of 404–442–6 with a playoff record of 14–19, including two AFL championships (as the Houston Oilers) and the loss in Super Bowl XXXIV. The Jaguars hold a 152–184 record and a 5–6 playoff record. The Texans made the playoffs for the first time in their ten-season existence in 2011 and hold a 97–127 record and a 2–3 playoff record.

The Colts’ Super Bowl XLI victory in 2006 is the only Super Bowl win from the AFC South to date, and the division owns the longest active Super Bowl victory drought. The next thirteen Super Bowls were won by at least one team in the other seven divisions, including seven victories from seven divisions from 2009 to 2015.

The AFC South teams

You can learn more about each team by clicking each link below:

Back to top