AFC East

The AFC East is one of the four divisions of the American Football Conference (AFC) in the National Football League (NFL). There are currently four teams that reside in the division: the Buffalo Bills (based in Orchard Park, New York); the Miami Dolphins (based in Miami Gardens, Florida); the New England Patriots (based in Foxborough, Massachusetts); and the New York Jets (based in East Rutherford, New Jersey).

Both perfect regular seasons in professional football since the adoption of a 14-game schedule in the inaugural AFL season and by the NFL in 1961 have been achieved by teams in this division – the 1972 Dolphins, who completed the only perfect season in professional football at 17–0, and the 2007 Patriots, who reached 18–0 before losing Super Bowl XLII. Since the division’s enfranchisement in 1960, with the creation of the American Football League, the division has been represented in twenty Super Bowls and won nine of them. The most recent appearance in the Super Bowl by an AFC East team was the Patriots victory in Super Bowl LIII.

At the end of 2018, the Patriots had the most wins in the division’s history, with a record of 500–392–9, with a playoff record of 35–19 (6–5 in Super Bowls) entering the playoffs of that season. The Dolphins were second at 446–350–4 (having played 84 fewer games than their division rivals) with a playoff record of 20–21 (2–3 in Super Bowls). The Bills were at 406–470–8 with a playoff record of 14–15 (with two American Football League titles) and 0–4 in four consecutive Super Bowls. The Jets held a record of 396–480–8, with a playoff record of 12–13 including a victory in Super Bowl III.

In 2012, the Patriots broke a tie with the Dolphins for winning the most division titles; with subsequent division titles in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2018 the Patriots have won 21 AFL/AFC East division titles to Miami’s 14. The Bills have won ten division titles, and the Jets have won four. As of 2019, the last season which the Patriots did not win the AFC East was in 2008, when the Dolphins beat them in a tiebreaker.

Two teams formerly in the division combined for ten AFL/AFC East titles – the Houston Oilers (now the Tennessee Titans) won four division titles (and the 1960 and 1961 league titles) during the AFL era while the Baltimore–Indianapolis Colts won six division titles (and Super Bowl V) in the 32 seasons they were in the division.

The AFC East teams

You can learn more about each team by clicking each link below:

Back to top